The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Cycling Canada  – Victoria, October 31, 2017 – On October 20th and 21st, Cycling Canada brought together provincial associations, partners, athletes and members of the local cycling community at the Westin Bear Mountain Resort in Victoria, BC, for their Annual Conference & inaugural Partner Summit.

The conference opened on Friday with a Forum bringing together the Board and staff of Cycling Canada with their Provincial Sports Organization (PSO) counterparts, as well as national partners and sponsors, including Lexus, Garneau, 4iiii, Cafe Barista, Bear Mountain, Swagman, STAC Zero, Own the Podium, B2ten, the COC, PHE Canada and the Global Relay Bridge The Gap Fund.

On Friday evening, at the President’s Reception, Cycling Canada presented their awards for the top events of the year, as well as recognition for volunteer contribution, officials and athletic performances. [Note: a full list of awards can be found below]

Photo Rob Jones/Canadian Cyclist (All Rights Reserved)
Media: Please contact Karine Bedard for image use.

In addition, new members joined a number of the standing committees that oversee High Performance, Events and other Committees for the Association.  Retired Olympic athlete Monique Sullivan joined the High Performance Committee, while Simon Williams joined the Events Committee.  New Cycling Canada Board member Pierre Laflamme will serve on the Finance and Audit Committee.

“Our operation committees are a crucial part of the future success of Cycling Canada,” stated Pierre Lafontaine, CEO of Cycling Canada.  “We are truly honored to have such a great group of committee members for the next year and we are looking forward to working with them to improve and to help move the sport to its rightful place in the world.”

Further workshops took place on Saturday, before the conference concluded with a gala dinner and fundraiser at Bear Mountain Resort. A capacity crowd came out to mingle with Canadian cycling legends and current members of Canada’s national road team, as well as fundraise for the national team program in a silent auction that raised over $15,000.

Photo Rob Jones/Canadian Cyclist (All Rights Reserved)

“This year we really elevated our Annual Conference with the addition of a Partner Summit, as well as a retreat/training camp for a group of Canada’s top road athletes,” said Matthew Jeffries, Director of Marketing for Cycling Canada.  “Bringing these key stakeholders together with our PSOs, Board/Staff and the Victoria cycling community provided fantastic opportunities for collaboration and relationship building. We’re grateful to all those who made the trip and we look forward to bringing these groups together again at our next Summit in the fall of 2018.”

Cycling Canada Awards
Event/Organizer of the Year:
• Road – Tour of Alberta – Alberta Peloton Association
• Mountain Bike – Canadian XCO Championships – Alberta Nationals MTB Race Association
• BMX – Canadian Championships & Canada Cup 7 – Calgary BMX
• Paracycling- Global Relay Canadian Road Championships – Centre National Cyclisme Bromont, QC
• Cyclo-cross – Canadian Championships – Club Cycliste Sherbrooke, QC
• Track – Canadian Championships (Elite/Master) – Cycling Canada

National Commissaire of the Year 2017: Marko Rosic / BC

International Commissaire of the Year 2017: Wayne Pomario / BC

Recognition Award for Coach of the Year:
• Road – Christine Gillard / QC
• MTB – Joel Harwood / BC
• BMX – Adam Muys / BC
• Cyclo-cross – David Gagnon / QC
• Track – Barry Lyster / BC

Torchy Peden Award (awarded by the Board of Directors): Manitoba; Canada Summer Games

Russ Copeland Award: Holden Jones (MTB); third place finish in the Junior Men’s XCO at the UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

President’s Trophy: Tristen Chernove (Para); World Champion in Para-Cycling Individual Pursuit, Kilometer Time Trial, Individual Time Trial and Road Race

Builder of the Year (awarded by Inter-provincial Council): Alex Man (Manitoba), designer and builder of Bison Butte, the mountain bike course of the 2017 Canada Summer Games

Service Pins
20 years:
• Louis Barbeau / QC – High Performance Committee
• Wayne Pomario / BC – Officials Committee

10 years:
• Kevin Baldwin / NL – Board of Directors
• Mike Connolly / PEI – Provincial Association

5 years:
• Bruno Vachon / QC – Events Committee

About Cycling Canada
Cycling Canada is the governing body for competitive cycling in Canada. Founded in 1882, Cycling Canada aims to create and sustain an effective system that develops talented Canadian cyclists to achieve Olympic, Paralympic, and World Championship medal performances. With the vision of being a leading competitive cycling nation by 2020 celebrating enhanced international success, increased national participation and world class event hosting, Cycling Canada manages the High Performance team, hosts national and international events and administers programs to promote and grow cycling across the country. Cycling Canada programs are made possible through the support of its valued corporate partners – Global Relay, Lexus Canada, Mattamy Homes, Louis Garneau and Bear Mountain Resort – along with the Government of Canada, Own The Podium, the Canadian Olympic Committee and the Canadian Paralympic Committee.



Source: Cycling Canada 
Karine Bedard l Cycling Canada l 613-248-1353 x 2617 l