The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Golf Ontario – ALBERTON—It was a dramatic finish to the 2017 Ontario Men’s Champion of Champions on May 16, from Heron Point Golf Links in Alberton. After 18 holes, two players found themselves tied with rounds of two-under (69). Brooklin’s Ashley Chinner and Oakville’s Mike Kray both went back out to the 18thhole to try and determine a winner.

During the playoff, Chinner’s tee shot found the middle of the fairway, while Kray, from Rattlesnake Point Golf Club, was in the rough with a tough angle to the green. However, he recovered nicely and landed his second shot on the green. Chinner, a Coppinwood member, also had a solid approach, which landed inside of Kray’s shot. Kray left his birdie putt just short, giving Chinner a chance for the win. Chinner stepped up and sank the putt, earning the championship.

Afterwards, Chinner talked about the putt and how his short game helped him in the win. “Sinking that putt felt good. I had the right line and I just had to hit it. The greens were a little slow today, but still very good for May 15th. I putted and chipped well. I didn’t hit many greens, so I really had to putt and chip well.”

Kray picked up the silver medal, while the bronze went to the 2016 Ontario Mid-Amateur Champion, Oakville’s Matthew Sim (Mississaugua Golf & Country Club) who shot an even par (71).

In the Senior Men’s Champion of Champions, things were less dramatic but still showcased some of the great skill from around the province. When all was said and done it was Burlington’s Mike Fernie who stood alone atop the leaderboard. Fernie, fromBurlington Golf & Country Club, shot an even par (71) to win the title.

“This is a very good win for me,” said Fernie. “It was a very strong field and it is good to see that, early in the season, I can perform against them. I have had some other championship wins but this is certainly up there.”

Finishing second was Toronto’s Robert Gibson. The Cedar Brae Golf Club member shot a three-over (74). Rounding out the podium was a three-way tie for the bronze. The medal was share by London’s Douglas Alexander, Strathroy’s Philip Cole and Owen Sound’sSteve Irving. All three players shot a four-over (75).

For more information, including the final leaderboard for the Men’s Champion of Champions visit the tournament site at: For complete information on the Senior Men’s Champion of Champions visit:   

Golf Ontario would like to thank Heron Point Golf Links and Clublink, along with their staff, for hosting the event.  Thanks also to the Golf Ontario volunteers for their continued support of golf in the province.

Men's Champion of Champions

About the Ontario Men’s Champion of Champions

The Ontario Men’s Champion of Champions was first contested in 1946 and features men’s club champions from Golf Ontario member clubs across the province. Past champions of the event include: Ontario Golf Hall of Fame members Bill Morland, Gerry Kesselring, Warren Sye, and Stu Hamilton, as well as Big Break Indian Wells champion David Byrne.

About the Senior Men’s Champion of Champion

The Ontario Senior Men’s Champion of Champions was first contested in 1970 and features senior men’s club champions age 55 and over from Golf Ontario member clubs across the province. Past champions include: Nick Weslock, Ed Ervasti and Patrick Suraj, who won the event a record six times.  


Golf Ontario is Ontario’s Provincial Sport Organization focused on enhancing participation, elevating performance and supporting the passion of golfers in Ontario. With over 90,000 individual members and 450 member clubs, Golf Ontario is one of the largest golf associations in the world.  From rating courses and keeping the integral rules of the game intact, to growing the game at the grassroots level and getting the game of golf into our school systems, to keeping the Ontario golf community aware of all relevant issues and hosting the best amateur tournaments in Canada, Golf Ontario is a passionate group dedicated to making golf better for everyone in Ontario. We share a love and passion for golf, while preserving its past, fostering its future, and championing golf’s best interests for everyone who enjoys the sport.


For more information please contact:

Darren Matte, Communications and Marketing Coordinator

Golf Ontario

905-852-1101 ext. 234


Results for contest Low Gross:
 T1  Ashley Chinner         69 -2  
 T1  Mike Kray              69 -2  
 3   Matthew Sim            71 E   
 T4  Shyamal Nagindas       72 +1  
 T4  Gajan Sivabalasingham  72 +1  
 T4  Mathew Iceton          72 +1  
 T4  Jordan Klein           72 +1  
 T4  Nic Mazze              72 +1  
 T4  Joseph Kremer          72 +1  
 T10 Nicholas Ross          73 +2  
 T10 Brendan Seys           73 +2  
 12  Mike Dinner            74 +3  
 T13 Paul Gortnar           75 +4  
 T13 Paul Stevens           75 +4  
 T13 Ryan Stolys            75 +4  
 T13 Daniel DiFrancesco     75 +4  
 T13 Steven Houle           75 +4  
 T18 Jordan Crampton        76 +5  
 T18 Owen Dick              76 +5  
 T18 Scott Hepburn          76 +5  
 T18 Mackenzie Carter       76 +5  
 T22 Connor Lyon            77 +6  
 T22 Robert Ellis           77 +6  
 T22 Dan Parrack            77 +6  
 T22 Matt Micallef          77 +6  
 T22 Jeffrey Ash            77 +6  
 T27 Bryan Ward             78 +7  
 T27 Alex Purdom            78 +7  
 T27 Kevin Fawcett          78 +7  
 T30 Paul Winter            79 +8  
 T30 Dennis Kavelman        79 +8  
 T30 Bill Hilton            79 +8  
 T33 Darren McNair          80 +9  
 T33 Mike Ward              80 +9  
 T33 Pete McMenemy          80 +9  
 T33 Matthew Wheeler        80 +9  
 T37 Brodie Mackay          81 +10 
 T37 Cam Hreljac            81 +10 
 T37 Cameron Leitch         81 +10 
 T37 Scott Hickerson        81 +10 
 T37 Ranen Oomen-Danckert   81 +10 
 T42 Jake Adams             82 +11 
 T42 Steve Knoch            82 +11 
 T44 Kurt Wilson            83 +12 
 T44 Philip Carleton        83 +12 
 T44 Ryan Mcinerney         83 +12 
 T47 Paul Kirkpatrick       84 +13 
 T47 David Moser            84 +13 
 49  Jurgen Vander Velden   85 +14 
 50  Martin Jokay           86 +15 
 51  Richard Martinello     87 +16 
 T52 Rob Brown              88 +17 
 T52 Patrick Craig          88 +17 
 54  David Cowx             91 +20 
 55  Bill Shannon           97 +26 
 56  Owen Smith             99 +28