Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Rowing Canada Aviron – Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) announces crew selections for FISA World Rowing Cup 3 in Lucerne, Switzerland from July 13th – 15th, 2018. This event is the second international competition of the 2018 season for Canada’s senior athletes, which includes a combination of World Cup 1 medallists and crews making their debut at the World Rowing Cup series. Nine crews have been selected to represent Canada from the 2018 Speed Orders – National Team Selection trials held in London Ontario from June 22nd – 28th,  2018. 

The women’s coxless pair remains unchanged since their Gold medal performance at World Cup 1 in Belgrade Serbia. Hillary Janssens and Caileigh Filmer will be looking to continue their strong start to the season with another podium finish in Lucerne.

Carling Zeeman is returning in the women’s single sculls and will look to repeat her podium success from the 2017 World Cup 3 where Zeeman captured a silver medal.

The women’s eight will make their season debut with six rowers returning from the 2017 World Championship silver medal boat. Rebecca Zimmerman, Christine Roper, Susanne Grainger, Nicole Hare, Lisa Roman and coxswain Kirsten Kit will reunite and be joined by Avalon Wasteneys, Sydney Payne and Karen Lefsrud.

Matt Buie moves from the single sculls at World Cup 1 to join forces in the men’s eight with Benjamin de Wit, Jakub Buczek, Kai Langerfeld, David De Groot, Martin Barakso, Cody Bailey, Mackenzie Copp and coxswain Jane Gumley.

Jill Moffatt and Jennifer Casson will return to the World Rowing Cup series following their 7th place finish in the lightweight women’s double in Belgrade. Joining them on the start line will be World Cup 1 Lightweight women’s single sculls silver medallist Ellen Gleadow who will partner with Katherine Haber as Canada’s second entry in the lightweight women’s double sculls.

Patrick Keane and Maxwell Lattimer reunite in the lightweight men’s double sculls with a good start to their season finishing 4th place at the 2018 World Cup 1 in Belgrade.

Canada will also field a strong women’s coxless four led by 2016 Olympian Jennifer Martins, Jessie Loutit, Colleen Nesbitt, and Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski and a women’s double sculls team crewed by Andrea Proske and Gabrielle Smith.

“I am very pleased to see the caliber of the 9 Canadian crews selected to represent Rowing Canada Aviron,” remarked RCA High Performance Director, Iain Brambell. “These athletes have undergone a very challenging and intense selection process and have emerged across a broad spectrum of events. There is an excitement growing within the Canadian Team and I look forward to seeing this energy harnessed during the final World Cup in Lucerne.” 

Over 150 Canadian athletes participated in this year’s selection process, competing in pairs and singles at Speed Order Trials for a spot at the selection camp held from June 25th-28th in London, Ontario.

Women’s crews will be led by Women’s Head Coach Dave Thompson and supported by coaches Michelle Darvill and Phil Marshall. Men’s crews and the Women’s single scull will be supported by Men’s Head Coach Dick Tonks and Jeremy Ivey.

Over 600 rowers from 37 nations will be competing across 18 boat classes in Lucerne.

Racing begins on Friday July 13th at 9:30 CET with International followed by Olympic boat classes. Racing then progresses through repechages and semifinals to the finals which will be raced over two days – July 14th and 15th 2018.  

There will be live video streaming of the A-finals on

Regatta information can be found here

Team Canada Roster – World Cup 3, Lucerne 

Women’s Single Scull
Carling Zeeman  – Sudbury Rowing Club

Women’s Coxless Pairs

Hillary Janssens – University of British Columbia
Caileigh Filmer – University of Victoria

Women’s Lightweight Double Scull

Jill Moffatt – University of Western Ontario
Jennifer Casson – Kingston Rowing Club
Ellen Gleadow – Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Katherine Haber – Hanlan Boat Club

Women’s Eight

Rebecca Zimmerman – University of Victoria
Christine Roper – Ottawa Rowing Club
Susanne Grainger – London Rowing Club
Nicole Hare – Calgary Rowing Club
Lisa Roman – Middlesex-Western Rowing Club
Avalon Wasteneys – University of Victoria
Sydney Payne – Brentwood College Rowing Club
Karen Lefsrud – Calgary Rowing Club
Kristen Kit (coxswain) – St.Catharines Rowing Club

Women’s Four

Jennifer Martins – University of Western Ontario
Jessie Loutit – Calgary Rowing Club
Colleen Nesbitt – University of Calgary
Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski – Calgary Rowing Club

Women’s Double Scull

Andrea Proske – Victoria City Rowing Club
Gabrielle Smith – Knowlton Rowing Club

Men’s Eight

Matt Buie – St. Catharines Rowing Club
Mackenzie Copp – Western Rowing Club
David de Groot – Brock University
Kai Langerfeld – University of Victoria
Benjamin de Wit – University of British Columbia
Jakub Buczek – Burnaby Lake Rowing Club
Martin Barakso – Brentwood College Rowing Club
Cody Bailey – Mic Mac Amateur Aquatic Club
Jane Gumley (coxswain) – University of Victoria

Men’s Lightweight Double Scull

Patrick Keane – University of Victoria 
Maxwell Lattimer – University of British Columbia

Coaching Team

Dave Thompson (Women’s Head Coach)
Michelle Darvill
Phil Marshall
Dick Tonks (Men’s Head Coach)
Jeremy Ivey

Canadian Umpires Attending World Cup 3

Charles Hauss             Lachine Rowing Club

For more information on World Cup 3, Lucerne:

Event Website:

For more information:

RCA Communications