The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame – TORONTO – On Thursday, November 9, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2017 – comprised of six athletes, two sport builders, and one team – will be formally inducted into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame during an evening gala and ceremony. The day’s celebrations commence with the official presentation of the inductees’ Honoured Member jacket, a symbol of Canada’s highest sporting honour. Each inductee will speak and be available for photos and media interviews following the morning’s media conference.  

The Class of 2017 includes:

  • Carol Huynh, two-time Olympic medallist who has given back by coaching the next generation, Wrestling
  • Cindy Klassen, the most decorated Canadian Winter Olympian in history, and a role model to young women in sport around the world, Speed Skating
  • The late Gaylord Powless, one of Canada’s most outstanding lacrosse players, overcoming racism and building bridges to Indigenous communities, Lacrosse
  • Lanny McDonald, Stanley Cup champion, and inspiring community leader, Ice Hockey
  • Mike Weir, the only Canadian to win the Masters, who has dedicated himself to supporting children in need, Golf 
  • Simon Whitfield, two-time Olympic medallist and role model for youth across Canada, Triathlon
  • Dr. Charles Tator, a scientist and neurosurgeon, having a profound impact on spinal cord injury research and transforming the world’s understanding of concussions, Builder, Sport Medicine  
  • The late Dr. Robert W. Jackson, the founder of the Paralympic movement in Canada and global leader in the advancement of arthroscopic surgery, Builder, Paralympic Games
  • The Edmonton Grads, the best basketball team the world has ever seen, Basketball 


Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame 2017 Induction Celebrations: Honoured Member jacket presentation and media conference


Thursday, November 9, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m. (ET)


Metro Toronto Convention Centre

Lower Level, Room 103A

225 Front Street W, Toronto ON


  • Class of 2017 Inductees
  • Curt Harnett, three-time Olympic Medallist, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame Honoured Member and Emcee
  • Bob Rooney, Chair of the Board of Governors, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame
  • Mario Siciliano, President and CEO, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame

Michelle Cameron Coulter, Honoured Member and Board Governor, Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame

For more information, please contact:

Marnie Krell

Director, Communications & Marketing

Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame

C: 403.437.0939 |