The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Football Canada – Canada one of 15 nations going for gold

Ottawa (September 2, 2016) – The Miami Florida area will play host to the 2016 International Federation of American Football (IFAF) Men’s and Women’s Flag Football World Championships. Canada is one of 15 nations taking part in the event from September 8-11 at Brian Piccolo Park in Hollywood, Florida.

Both male and female draws will culminate with gold medal finals on Sunday, September 11.

Both tournaments, initially scheduled to be played in The Bahamas, were relocated to the Miami-area.

Canada’s representatives at the IFAF Flag Football World Championships were decided at the 2016 Senior Flag Football Invitational, held May 27-29 in Halifax.

Two-time defending women’s champion

Canada’ women’s national team goes for gold for a third time, after capturing first place in 2014 as well as at the 2010 worlds on home soil in Ottawa. In 2016, Canada’s female entry will be once again represented by Montreal-based Fleur de Lys who return a core group of veterans to the IFAF tournament. The Fleur de Lys were dominant at the 2016 Senior Flag Invitational, preserving an undefeated record with a 30-6 victory over Saskatchewan in the final.

Men look to medal for first time since 2008

Saskatchewan will represent Canada on the men’s side of the draw for the first time. A Nova Scotia-based contingent represented Canada at the 2010, 2012 and 2014 world championships. Following a pair of bronze medal game losses at the hands of Italy, Canada’s men’s national team enters this year’s tournament hoping to improve upon a fourth place finish in 2014.

Participating Countries

Men’s: Austria, Canada, Denmark, Great Britain, Guatemala, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Panama, United States

Women’s: Austria, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Guatemala, France, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Panama, United States

Canada’s rosters will be announced in the week leading up to the tournament.

The IFAF Flag Football World Championship was established in 2002 and is held every two years. Canada first participated in 2008.

Canada’s schedule at the 2016 IFAF FFWC (all times local, subject to change)

Men’s national team

Thursday Sept. 8

9:30 a.m. – vs. Korea

2:00 p.m. – vs. Italy

Friday Sept. 9

9:30 a.m. – vs. Mexico

3:30 p.m. – vs. Great Britain

Saturday Sept. 10

1:30 p.m. – vs. Denmark

4:30 p.m. – vs. Guatemala

Women’s national team

Thursday Sept. 8

12:30 p.m. – vs. France

3:30 p.m. – vs. U.S.

Friday Sept. 9

11 a.m. – vs. Panama


Saturday Sept. 10

3:00 p.m. – vs. Japan

6:00 p.m. – vs. Guatemala

Canada’s results at the IFAF Flag Football World Championships

Year – Host City



2008 – St-Jean-sur-Richelieu, QC



2010 – Ottawa, ON



2012 – Gothenburg, Sweden


Did not participate  

2014 – Grosseto, Italy





– 30 – 

About Football Canada

Established in 1884, Football Canada is the national governing body of amateur football in Canada and a proud member of the International Federation of American Football (IFAF). Working closely with the provincial football associations, we develop programs and resources for players, coaches, officials in the three disciplines of Tackle, Flag and Touch Football. Football Canada’s vision statement is “from playground to stadium” where players can participate in the game of football throughout a lifetime recreationally, competitively and internationally. 

Contact Information:

Patrick DeLottinville

Coordinator, Communications

Football Canada

613-564-0003 x 226