Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

BC RugbyClub Rugby returns for another exciting season across the province

Image: Burnaby Lake RFC (white) will be out to settle a score against reigning Premier League Champions UBC Thunderbirds (blue).
(Credit: Rick MacDonald, courtesy of BC Rugby) 

Vancouver, BC – September 7, 2017 – The start of BC Rugby’s 2017/18 Senior Club Rugby season kicks off this Saturday, marking the first of 22 weekends of rugby action in the province. Clubs competing in the Men’s Premier League, Men’s Premier Reserve League, Men’s Division 1 and 2 all launch their 2017/18 campaigns this weekend with all other divisions commencing a week later, September 16, including the Women’s Premier Division, sponsored by belairdirect, Women’s Division 1 and 2, Men’s Island Division 1 and Men’s Mainland Division 3.

The Men’s Premier and Reserve Leagues has some tantalising opening games, headlined by the 2017 Championship Final rematch between defending champions UBC Thunderbirds and Burnaby Lake RFC.  To complete the feeling of Deja Vu, the game will be overseen by the same official from last season’s final, David Smortchevsky.  This match will kick-off at 2.30pm after the Premier Reserves match which kicks off at 12.45pm.

Also in the Men’s Premier and Reserve Leagues, two local derbies will open the season. The James Bay AA teams will head to Windsor Park to meet Castaway Wanderers, both outfits boasting a number of National level players. Back across the Georgia Straight, Meralomas, with a new coaching outfit, including former Canadian player Jebb Sinclair as Assistant Coach, will host the UBC Old Boys at Connaught Park. Finalising the schedule of matches, Capilano RFC travel across the border to meet Seattle Saracens while Nanaimo RFC sits week one out with a bye. 

The 2016/17 Men’s Division 1 winners Surrey Beavers AA will kick off their defense of the title with a visit to United RC with both the 1st and 2nd XV Teams meeting.  With last year’s Men’s Division 2 champions Meralomas RFC no longer competing in this tier of competition, the fight will be onto crown a new champion, with 2016/17 runners-up Kamloops RC playing host to Scribes RFC for their opening game.
In total, 88 teams representing 35 Clubs will compete in over 700 matches in the regular season across all senior divisions, leading to playoffs in late April 2018 before the top teams compete in the BC Rugby Club Finals, due to be held on May 5, 2018.

In an exciting development for this season, a new U23 Men’s Division has been crafted, with 8 teams competing for the inaugural title.  This new division will hopefully act as a much-needed platform to provide an outlet for players graduating from the school rugby system, as well as encouraging development in the club system.
BC Rugby CEO, Annabel Kehoe, was full of enthusiasm for the upcoming season, saying “This is going to be one of our busiest ever Senior Rugby seasons.  The addition of the U23 Men’s Division is a critical step to ensure that graduating youth players have a league for them.  In addition, BC Rugby will be looking at further developing opportunities at this pivotal age of player development to ensure we retain this next generation in our game.”  Kehoe continued, “It’s also exciting to see the expansion of the Men’s Premier League and Premier Reserve League, with Meralomas, Westshore & Nanaimo all joining the top flight.  We expect to see some great competitive matches play out over the coming months and wish all teams the best of luck.”

To view the full season schedules and results, visit

Fixtures for Opening Weekend (September 9th 2017):

Division Home Away Kick Off
Men’s Premier Castaway Wanderers RFC James Bay AA 2.45PM
Men’s Premier Westshore RFC UVic Vikes 2.30PM
Men’s Premier Burnaby Lake RFC UBC Thunderbirds 2.30PM
Men’s Premier Seattle Saracens RC Capilano RFC 2.30PM
Men’s Premier Meralomas RFC UBCOB Ravens 2.30PM
Men’s Premier Reserve Castaway Wanderers RFC James Bay AA 12.30PM
Men’s Premier Reserve Westshore RFC UVic Vikes 12.45PM
Men’s Premier Reserve Burnaby Lake RFC UBC Thunderbirds 12.45PM
Men’s Premier Reserve Seattle Saracens RC Capilano RFC 12.45PM
Men’s Premier Reserve Meralomas RFC UBCOB Ravens 12.45PM
Men’s Div 1 Langley RC Brit Lions RC 2.30PM
Men’s Div 1 United RC Surrey Beavers AA 2.30PM
Men’s Div 1 Abbotsford RFC Bayside RFC 2.30PM
Men’s Div 2 Kelowna RFC Vancouver Rowing Club 1.00PM
Men’s Div 2 Langley RC Brit Lions RC 12.45PM
Men’s Div 2 United RC Surrey Beavers AA 12.45PM
Men’s Div 2 Abbotsford RFC Bayside Sharks RFC 12.45PM
Men’s Div 2 Kamloops RC Scribes RFC 12.45PM
Men’s Div 2 Burnaby Lake RFC Simon Fraser RFC 11.15PM

More information about BC Rugby

The British Columbia Rugby Union, commonly known as BC Rugby, is the governing body for Rugby in British Columbia and is a Provincial Union of Rugby Canada, the national governing body. Representing over 7,500 individuals registered through around 60 Member Clubs and Associations across the Province, BC Rugby leads and manages the sport with the aim to grow participation and develop excellence in all games of Rugby and in all facets of the sport.





For further information, please contact:


BC Rugby

Euan McGhee

Marketing & Communications Manager

Tel: +1- 604-737-3070