Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Canoe Kayak Canada – MONTRÉAL, QC (June 24, 2016) – The first day of competition for the second set of Canadian Sprint Canoe Kayak Team Trials kicked off today at the Olympic Basin in Montreal, QC. After Genevieve Orton (Lake Echo, NS) and KC Fraser (Toronto, ON) earned the final two Olympic spots in the Women’s K2 500m, the attention turned to carding races to assess athletes for Sport Canada’s Athlete Assistance Program as well as Junior and Under 23 races.

In senior events, Alex Scott (Bedford, NS) won the Men’s K1 200m while Michelle Russell (Fall River, NS) won the Women’s K1 200m.

Olivier Courchesne (Trois-Rivières, QC) won the Junior Men’s K1 200m final while James MacPhee (Sackville, NS) won in the Junior Men’s C1 200m. Grace Whebby (Dartmouth, NS) won the Junior Women’s K1 200m.

Tess Peterman (Chelsea, QC) and Anna Roy-Cyr (Lac Beauport, QC) won the Junior Women’s C2 200m final. In Junior Women’s C1 200m, Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC) won the first of two finals in a best two-out-of-three format. In addition to placement, athletes must also achieve performance standards to be nominated to teams.

The three-day National Team Trials continue through to Sunday.

Summary of Results



Junior Women’s C1 200m Final 1/2

  1.    Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC)
  2.    Anna Roy-Cyr (Lac Beauport, QC)
  3.    Tess Peterman (Chelsea, QC)

Junior Men’s K1 200m

  1.   Olivier Courchesne (Trois-Rivières, QC)
  2.   Ryan Lefort (Dartmouth, NS)
  3.   Paul Lapierre (Dartmouth, NS)

Senior Men’s K1 200m

  1.   Alex Scott (Bedford, NS)
  2.   Ryan Cochrane (Windsor, NS)
  3.   Marc-Alexandre Gagnon (Trois-Rivières, QC)

Junior Men’s C1 200m

  1.   James MacPhee (Sackville, NS)
  2.   Connor Fitzpatrick (Dartmouth, NS)
  3.   Nikolas Favreau-Regimballe (Lachine, QC)

Junior Women’s K1 200m

1) Grace Whebby (Dartmouth, NS)

2) Anna Negulic (Bedford, NS)

3) Lucy Pennyfather (Oakville, ON)

Senior Women’s K1 200m

1) Michelle Russell (Fall River, NS)

2) Lissa Bissonnette (Sherbrooke, QC)

3) Hannah Vaughan (Dartmouth, NS)

Junior Women’s C2 200m

  1.    Tess Peterman (Chelsea, QC), Anna Roy-Cyr (Lac Beauport, QC)
  2.    Anne-Sophie Lavoie-Parent (Trois-Rivières, QC), Jessica MacDonald (Dartmouth, NS)
  3.    Nicole Boyle (Winnipeg, MB), Maddy Mitchell (Winnipeg, MB)

Start lists & Results

About Canoe Kayak Canada

Canoe Kayak Canada is the national governing body for competitive paddling in Canada. Canoe Kayak Canada has been one of Canada’s top performing summer sports having won an impressive count of 24 Olympic medals. Canoe Kayak Canada is a member-based organization which includes an intricate network of clubs as well as provincial, territorial and divisional paddling associations. Elite National Team athletes proudly represent Canada at various competitions around the globe – most notably the Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Pan American Games, ICF World Cups as well as Junior, Under 23 and Senior World Championships. Follow Canoe Kayak Canada on TwitterFacebookInstagram and YouTube.


For more information:

Ian Miller
Communications and Marketing Officer, Canoe Kayak Canada