Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"

Rowing Canada Aviron – Canadian crews continue to tally up the race wins and advance to the A-Finals on day five of competition at the 2018 World Rowing Championships.

Kicking off an action-packed day, the Canadian Men’s Pair raced their rescheduled quarterfinal in dominant fashion, crossing the finish line with clear water to New Zealand. Picking up their second race win of the event (6:26.04), Mackenzie Copp and Taylor Perry advance to the A/B semifinals on Friday.

The PR3 Mixed Coxed Four crew (Andrew Todd, Bayleigh Hooper, Victoria Nolan, Kyle Fredickson and coxswain Laura Court) put in a strong performance against Australia in their repechage race to finish second and advance to the A-Final on Saturday. 

Aaron Lattimer lined up in the Men’s Lightweight Single semi-final, putting on an impressive sprint in the last 500m to finish third (6:55.72) and book a ticket to his first A-Final at a Senior World Championship event.

“It was a great race out there today. It’s been a collective effort and I’m excited and honoured to be representing my teammates and country in the A-Final tomorrow.” Lattimer will race tomorrow at 6:00amEST/3:00amPDT. 

Jill Moffatt raced the A/B semi-final in the Women’s Lightweight Single, climbing back from a slow start to put herself back in contention at the 1500m mark. Moffatt powered over the finish line in 3rd place (7:45.85), locking up her spot in the A-Final tomorrow at 6:16amEST/3:16amPDT 7:45.85

The Women’s Pair delivered another stunning performance in the A/B semi-final with Hillary Janssens and Caileigh Filmer stealing the win (6:58.57) from reigning World Champions and world best time holders, Prendergast and Gowler of New Zealand. Janssens and Filmer are the first crew to beat the defending World Champions this quadrennial. 

Jen Casson and Kate Haber raced their A/B semi-final in the Lightweight Double sculls, finishing just outside qualification in fourth, less than half a second behind Switzerland. Although the battle fell just short today, Casson and Haber will line up for a new fight on Saturday in the B-Final.

The final race of the day for Canada went to the Men’s Lightweight Double, Patrick Keane and Max Lattimer. Despite all the controversy yesterday surrounding the quarterfinals, Patrick and Max certainly rose to the occasion and laid down a solid race win in the C/D semifinal. The C-Final will be held on Saturday. 

Tomorrow, will be another critical day for Canada with a total of nine races and four A-Finals!

Friday Race Schedule (EET Local time):
W8+ REP 8:45am
M8+ REP 8:53am
M2- A/B semi 9:11am
W2x A/B semi 9:35am
W1x A/B semi 10:07am
PR2 M1x A FINAL 10:57am
PR3 M2- A FINAL 11:39am
LM1x A FINAL 13:00am
LW1x A FINAL 13:16am

How to Watch Racing 
Live streaming every day at
Live race tracker and LIVE audio will be available for ALL races on
Live streaming of heats and finals available in Canada at CBC Sports.
See below for list of crews. 


Editor’s Notes

When and Where
September 9-16, 2018
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Racing starts 9:30am local time (2:30amET / 11:30pmPT)

How to Watch Racing 
Live streaming every day at
Live race tracker and LIVE audio will be available for ALL races on
Live streaming of heats and finals available in Canada at CBC Sports.

Rowing Canada Aviron will share daily team highlights and results via email and provide result updates on Twitter, with behind the scenes footage on Instagram. 

Join the conversation @rowingcanada: #WRChamps #truenorthstrong #rowingcanadaaviron

Schedule and Results available at

Team Canada Roster – 2018 World Championships

PR1 Women’s Single:
Tracy Van Asseldonk (Delta Deas Rowing Club)

PR2 Men’s Single
Jeremy Hall (Edmonton Rowing Club)

PR3 Men’s Pair
Andrew Todd (North Star Rowing Club)
Kyle Fredrickson (University of Victoria)

PR3 Mixed Coxed Four:
Victoria Nolan (Argonaut Rowing Club)
Bayleigh Hooper (Peterborough Rowing Club)
Andrew Todd (North Star Rowing Club)
Kyle Fredrickson (University of Victoria)
Coxswain: Laura Court (St. Catharines Rowing Club)

Women’s Single Scull
Carling Zeeman (Sudbury Rowing Club)

Women’s Coxless Pair
Hillary Janssens (University of British Columbia)
Caileigh Filmer (University of Victoria)

Women’s Lightweight Single
Jill Moffatt (Western University)

Women’s Lightweight Double 
Jennifer Casson (Kingston Rowing Club)
Kate Haber (Hanlan Boat Club)

Women’s Double
Andrea Proske (Victoria City Rowing Club)
Gabrielle Smith (Knowlton Rowing Club)

Women’s Four
Jessie Loutit (Calgary Rowing Club)
Karen Lefsrud (Calgary Rowing Club)
Kendra Wells (University of Victoria)
Larissa Werbicki (Saskatoon Rowing Club)

Women’s Eight
Rebecca Zimmerman (University of Victoria)
Jennifer Martins (Western University)
Susanne Grainger (London Rowing Club)
Madison Mailey (Burnaby Lake Rowing Club)
Stephanie Grauer (Burnaby Lake Rowing Club)
Christine Roper (Ottawa Rowing Club)
Sydney Payne (Brentwood College Rowing Club)
Lisa Roman (Middlesex-Western Rowing Club)
Coxswain – Kristen Kit (University of British Columbia/St. Catharines Rowing Club)

Kasia Gruchalla-Wesierski (Calgary Rowing Club)
Avalon Wasteneys (University of Victoria)

Men’s Eight
Matt Buie (St. Catharines Rowing Club)
Kai Langerfeld (University of Victoria)
Conlin McCabe (Brockville Rowing Club)
Ben de Wit (University of British Columbia)
Tim Schrijver (Brock University)
Martin Barakso (Brentwood College)
Dave DeGroot (Brock University)
Jakub Buczek (Burnaby Lake Rowing Club)
Coxswain – Jane Gumley (University of Victoria)

Men’s Lightweight Single
Aaron Lattimer (University of British Columbia)

Men’s Lightweight Double
Patrick Keane (University of Victoria)
Maxwell Lattimer (University of British Columbia)

Men’s Pair
Taylor Perry (Leander Boat Club)
Mackenzie Copp (Western University)

*Trevor Jones (Men’s single) has withdrawn from competition due to injury.

Coaching Team

John Wetzstein (Para Head Coach)
Dave Thompson (Women’s Head Coach)
Michelle Darvill
Phil Marshall
Lesley Thompson-Willie
Dick Tonks (Men’s Head Coach)
Jeremy Ivey

Support Team

Iain Brambell (HPD)
Dr. Mike Wilkinson (Physician)
Tricia McBride (Physiotherapist)
Wendy Pethick (Physiologist)
Marcus Blumensaat (Massage Therapist)
Matt Draper (Team Manager)
Kayla Cornale (Para Team support)
Colleen Coderre (Media Relations)

Canadian Umpires
William Donegan (Argonaut Rowing Club/St. Catharines Rowing Club)


For further information and media inquiries:
Colleen Coderre
RCA Communications 

About Rowing Canada Aviron

Rowing Canada Aviron (RCA) is a non-profit organization recognized by the Government of Canada and the Canadian Olympic Committee as the national governing body for rowing in Canada, representing more than 15,000 registered members.
RCA is a member of the Canadian Olympic Committee, the Canadian Paralympic Committee and the Fédération internationale des sociétés d’aviron (FISA), the international federation for rowing. For more information about Rowing Canada Aviron, please visit or follow @rowingcanada.