The Sport Information Resource Centre
Use double quotes to find documents that include the exact phrase: "aerodynamic AND testing"
The Sport Information Resource Centre

Volleyball Manitoba – June 11, 2018 – The 2018 Volleyball Manitoba Awards & Hall of Fame Banquet was held last night, Sunday, June 10th, at the Canad Inns Destination Centre Polo Park, a celebration recognizing some of our outstanding athletes, coaches, volunteers and officials.

At the banquet Volleyball Manitoba recognized all Provincial Champions from this past year, All-Stars & MVP’s, National Medalists, the Age Class Players of the Year from each age category as well as the Cheryl Cable, Mark Tennant, Wezer Bridle Golden Whistle and Mary Jean England Coach Awards, among others.

The evening was capped off with the Volleyball Manitoba Hall of Fame inductions, which included Andrew Zurawsky (Athlete), Fred Kelesnik (Builder), Taras Ilkiw (Builder) and the 1997-2000 River East Kodiaks Girls Teams (Team Category). Details of each of the 2018 inductees can be found here:

Congratulations to the following major award winners:

2018 Volleyball Manitoba Age Class Players of the Year:

15U Girls Player of the Year         Andi Almonte – SHOCK

15U Boys Player of the Year        Simon Hildebrandt – WinMan Krush

16U Girls Player of the Year         Devon Borody – Cobras 16U,

16U Boys Player of the Year        Justin Cross – 204 16U Gold

17U Girls Player of the Year         Erika Vermette – Jr Bison

17U Boys Player of the Year        Isaiah Olfert – Jr Wesmen

18U Girls Player of the Year         Jayda Nault – Cobras 18U,

18U Boys Player of the Year        Nigel Nielson – WinMan Clutch

Mark Tennant and Cheryl Cable Awards for the Junior (20U) Players of the Year:

Cheryl Cable Memorial Award Winner – Kearley Abbott, University of Manitoba

Mark Tennant Award Winner – Eric Loeppky, Trinity Western University Spartans

Mary Jean England Awards – Elite and Developmental Coach of the Year: Developmental Coach of the Year – Lorriann Ludwig of the WinMan Titans 14U Boys

Elite Coach of the Year – Rob Olfert of the Jr Wesmen 17U Boys

Wezer Bridle Golden Whistle Award – Referee of the Year

Lindsey Barnett

Volleyball Manitoba Volunteers of the Year:

Catherine-Grace Peters – Chair of the 2017 Canada Games Beach Volleyball Event

Nikki Redekop Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Kelysian Warmington – Lord Selkirk Royals

Special Recognition Award

2017 Canada Games Indoor Women’s Team – Gold Medalists

Canad Inns Teams of the Year

Anna Maidment & Erika Vermette – 2017 16U Beach National Champions

Jr. Bison 17U Gold – 2018 17U National Champions

We also recognize all 195 teams that competed in this year’s Provincial Championships, as well as all those teams that competed in the Volleyball Canada Nationals in Edmonton. In total, there were over 120 teams participating in the National Championships from Manitoba, of the 864 total teams across the country. Know that the hard work and dedication to the sport from all teams is acknowledged, and you have our sincere congratulations.

John Blacher – Executive Director
Volleyball Manitoba
412 – 145 Pacific Avenue
Winnipeg, MB  R3B 2Z6
Ph: (204)925-5791   Cell: (204)479-3612   Fax: (204)925-5786       Follow us on twitter @VBManitoba