Le centre de documentation pour le sport
Utilisez des guillemets pour trouver les documents qui contiennent l'expression exacte : "aérodynamique ET essais"
Le centre de documentation pour le sport

Skate Canada – OTTAWA, ON: Skate Canada will send an eight-member team to the 2017 ISU World Team Trophy, taking place for the fifth time in Tokyo, Japan from April 19-23. The Canadian team will consist of two men, two women and one entry per discipline in pair and ice dance.

The Canadian Team will be led by team captains two-time world ice dance medallists Kaitlyn Weaver and Andrew Poje, Canadian pair bronze medallists Kirsten Moore-Towers and Michael Marinaro, three-time world champion Patrick Chan, Olympic silver team medallist Kevin Reynolds, world bronze medallist Gabrielle Daleman and Canadian bronze medallist Alaine Chartrand.

The countries ranked one to six on the ISU team standings qualify for the event. Team Canada is ranked number one heading into this event. The other five countries, in order of qualification, are: Russia, USA, Japan, China and France. Skaters compete in their disciplines with short programs/dance and free skates/dance. After the results, they receive placement points, which are then added together and the team with the highest points total will win the title. Teams will compete for a total of $1 million USD in prize money.

Canada has medalled three times at this event, winning silver at the inaugural event in 2009, bronze in 2012 and silver in 2013.

Mike Slipchuk, Skate Canada High Performance Director, will be the Canadian team leader at this event.  Meghan Buttle of Toronto, Ont., will be the team physiotherapist. Canadian officials at the event are Karen Butcher of Greely, Ont., and Karen Howard, Regina, Sask.

For results and full entries please visit the event page. For photos of Canadian entries, please contact media@skatecanada.ca. For streaming and broadcast schedule, visit CBC Sports.









Patrick Chan


Toronto, Ont.

Granite Club

Marina Zoueva/ Oleg Epstein/ Johnny Johns


Kevin Reynolds


Coquitlam, B.C.

Vancouver SC

Joanne McLeod


Gabrielle Daleman


Newmarket, Ont.

Toronto Cricket, Skating and Curling Club

Lee Barkell/ Brian Orser


Alaine Chartrand


Prescott, Ont.

Nepean Skating Club

Michelle Leigh


Kirsten Moore-Towers/ Michael Marinaro


St. Catharines, Ont./ Sarnia, Ont.

Kitchener-Waterloo SC/ Point Edward SC Inc.

Bruno Marcotte/ Richard Gauthier/ Sylvie Fullum/ Julie Marcotte/ Cynthia Lemaire

Ice Dance

Kaitlyn Weaver/ Andrew Poje


Toronto, Ont./ Waterloo, Ont.

Sault FSC/ Kitchener-Waterloo SC

Nikolai Morozov


Skate Canada is the nation’s governing body for competitive figure skating and is dedicated to creating a nation of skaters, both recreationally and competitively. Over 125 years old, Skate Canada is the world’s oldest skating organization and Canada’s preeminent leader in skating instruction and education. Over 170,000 Canadians participate in Skate Canada educational programs each year, including our flagship CanSkate program that teaches beginners of every age the basic skills of skating and fundamental movements.

As one of Canada’s most successful sport governing bodies, Skate Canada athletes have won 25 Olympic medals and 35 world championship titles. Today’s Canadian world and Olympic medallists all began at one of our 1,200 local Skate Canada clubs or skating schools. Through our programs, more than 5,500 certified professional coaches encourage Canadians of all ages to skate together as a family, pursue competitive ice sports and enjoy an active lifestyle.

Skate Canada has National Service Centres in Ottawa and Toronto and high performance facilities in Toronto and Montreal.

For Information:
Emma Bowie, Communications Manager
+1 (613) 747-1007 ext. 2547