U SPORTS TOP 10 TUESDAY (#3): X marks the (No.1) spot in women’s rugby

September 12, 2017

U SPORTS – The StFX X-Women open the 2017 campaign as the top-ranked women’s rugby team in the nation. 

 
StFX (1-0), earned the No.1 ranking to begin the season for the second time in three years, after capturing the national championship last fall with a 27-19 victory over Ottawa. Kicking off their title defence Friday night at home, June Beals and Sara McCarron scored three tries apiece, while Danielle Franada kicked 10 conversions as the X-Women shut out Saint Mary’s 105-0.
 
StFX visits UPEI on Saturday (1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT).
 
In men’s and women’s soccer, Alberta (3-0-1) and Laval (2-0-0) maintain the pole position for the third straight week respectively. Idle over the weekend, the Golden Bears visit Fraser Valley on Friday (9 p.m.ET/6 p.m. PT) and UNBC on Sunday (2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT), while the Rouge et Or picked up a 2-1 win at home Friday over UQTR. Laval visits Concordia this Friday (8:45 p.m. ET/5:45 p.m. PT) before hosting McGill Sunday (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT).
 
Top 10 rankings for men’s and women’s cross country will begin next Tuesday, Sept. 19.
 
U SPORTS TOP 10 Tuesday Rankings – Sept. 12, 2017  
MEN’S SOCCER
 
(Regular Season Record) / Points / (Previous Ranking)
 
1. Alberta (3-0-1) / 60 pts / (1)
2. UBC (3-0-1) / 49 pts / (4)
3. Toronto (5-0-1) / 38 pts / (6)
4. Montreal (2-0-0) / 37 pts / (T9)
5. Guelph (4-1-1) / 34 pts / (3)
6. Cape Breton (1-0-0) / 34 pts / (5)
7. Ryerson (5-0-1) / 30 pts / (7)
8. UQAM (1-1-0) / 22 pts / (2)
9. McMaster (4-2-0) / 6 pts / (T9)
10. StFX (2-0-0) / 4 pts / (NR)
 
Other teams receiving votes: Western (3), McGill (3), Dalhousie (2), Carleton (2), York (2), Memorial (2), Saskatchewan (1)
 
WOMEN’S SOCCER
 
(Regular Season Record) / Points / (Previous Ranking)
 
1. Laval (2-0-0) / 60 pts / (1)
2. UOIT (5-0-0) / 54 pts / (2)
3. UBC (2-1-0) / 43 pts / (4)
4. Ottawa (4-1-1) / 33 pts* / (10)
5. Queen's (3-0-1) / 33 pts* / (5)
6. Montreal (1-0-1) / 31 pts / (6)
7. Trinity Western (1-1-0) / 27 pts / (3)
8. Cape Breton (1-0-0) / 14 pts / (8)
9. Memorial (2-0-0) / 9 pts / (NR)
10. Alberta (1-0-1) / 8 pts* / (NR)
 
* Ottawa edges Queen's for No. 4 spot thanks to a higher number of higher-placed votes. Alberta edges Windsor for No. 10 spot thanks to a higher number of higher-placed votes
 
Other teams receiving votes: Windsor (8) MacEwan (5) StFX (2) Calgary (2) Victoria (1)
 
WOMEN’S RUGBY
 
(Regular Season Record) / Points (1st Place) / (Previous Ranking)
 
1. StFX           (1-0) / 134 pts (10) / (-)
2. Laval          (2-0) / 98 pts (1) / (-)
3. Guelph       (2-0) / 95 pts (1) / (-)
4. Calgary      (0-0) / 92 pts / (-)
5. Ottawa       (1-1) / 76 pts / (-)
6. McMaster   (1-0) / 67 pts (1) / (-)
7. Queen’s      (1-1) / 55 pts / (-)
8. Concordia  (1-1) / 41 pts / (-)
9. Victoria       (0-0) / 38 pts / (-)
10. Acadia      (1-0) / 19 pts / (-)
 
Other teams receiving votes: Brock (4), Carleton (4), Alberta (2), Lethbridge (2), UPEI (1)
 
About U SPORTS
 
U SPORTS is the national brand for University Sports in Canada. Every year, over 12,000 student-athletes and 500 coaches from 56 universities vie for 21 national championships in 12 different sports. U SPORTS also provides higher performance international opportunities for Canadian student-athletes at Winter and Summer Universiades, as well as numerous world university championships. For further information, visit usports.ca or follow us on:
 
Twitter: @USPORTSca
Facebook: @USPORTSCanada
Instagram: @ USPORTSca
YouTube: @USPORTSca 
Snapchat: @USPORTSca
 
-U SPORTS –
 
For further information, please contact:
 
Ken Saint-Eloy
Manager, Communications
U SPORTS
Cell: 647-871-7595
 
Alan Hudes 
Coordinator, Communications
U SPORTS
Off: 905-508-3000 ext. 242
Cell: 647-991-5343